Photo challenge: #ExploretheElements

It’s been quite a while since I last did a photo challenge, so when Vlad at Eff It I’m on Holiday tagged me in his latest effort, I thought I’d give it a go.

The premise is pretty simple: choose four photos which each represent one of the elements: earth, water, fire and air. (I’m not sure why wind wasn’t included, but hey – I don’t make the rules). Having posted your choices, each blogger must nominate another five bloggers to take part.

So here are my choices:

Earth

Tirolean Alps, Hohe Tauern, Austria

This photo was taken at Hohe Tauern National Park in Austria, during our company trip to the Austrian Alps. I took this picture during a very hungover hike, which had some spectacular views.

I picked this shot because I think it shows the dramatic extremes of the Earth. The trip in September was my first visit to the Alps and I couldn’t get over how huge some of the peaks were. The area is full of natural beauty, but I think this vantage point into the valley below was one of my favourite pictures from the trip.

Water

Kravice Falls, Bosnia & Herzegovina

This shot is of the Kravice Falls in Herzegovina, just north of the Croatian border. I visited as part of my Balkans trip last year.

When it came to water, I was torn between beautiful sea views, roaring waterfalls and still frozen lakes. Ultimately, I opted for this shot because I can still remember how powerful the water was. There had been a lot of rainfall so the water level was very high and the spray coming off the falls meant that you couldn’t get a decent shot if you got too close. The waterfall was also in sharp contrast to the hot, dry climate of Herzegovina.

Fire

Eternal Flame, Mamayev Kurgan, Volgograd

Pictured above is the Eternal Flame at the Mamayev Kurgan memorial complex in Volgograd, Southern Russia. It was taken in the run-up to Victory Day in 2013.

I was originally intending to post a picture of fireworks when I stumbled upon this (which is just as well because my firework photographs are shocking). Most cities in Russia have an eternal flame to remember those who lost their lives in the Second World War (known as the Great Patriotic War in Russian). Volgograd was the site of the bloodiest conflict during the war (and of all human history) and so the flame here is even more sacred.

I chose this photo as I think it combines the devastation that fire and conflict can cause, but also the hope it can represent: rising from the flames.

Air

Monument to the Conquerors of Space, Kosmonaut Alley, Moscow

 

This photo shows the Monument to the Conquerors of Space in Moscow, Russia – taken in early May 2013.

Ok, so I may have made a slight leap from air to space, but I think this monument fits the bill. I always think it’s important to remember (in spite of everything else), that the Soviet Union made some historic advancements in technology – of which sending the first human into space ranks pretty highly. This monument has always been one of my favourites and I think it portrays the grace of space flight pretty well.

Now time for my nominations! Apologies in advance to any of you who have been nominated already. Please remember there’s no obligation to take part and I won’t be offended it you don’t!

  1. Anna from Home and Away
  2. Olga from The Russian Abroad
  3. Virginia from The Well-Travelled Postcard
  4. ‘Handsome’ Ed from Rexy Edventures
  5. James from Country Corners

What do you think of my choices? What would you have picked?
Comment below!

13 responses to “Photo challenge: #ExploretheElements

  1. I looooove your “earth” and “water” pictures! I have added that waterfall to my list, I hope I can go on a similar trip as you next year (sadly, it won’t happen this year, although we’ve talked about it. 😦 ). And lol, how shocking are your fireworks photos?

    • Kravice was really nice. We bought a bottle of Rakija from the back of a guy’s car there. Balkans life, eh?

      My fireworks photos are terrible and the world will never see them.

  2. I dont do challenges often but I might do this one (it’s simple, too!). I love your choices, esp the last 2, for ooooobvious reasons. In fact, before I saw this post I was thinking about what I’d use for Fire and decided to go with the Tomb of Unknown Soldier in Moscow. Great minds, and all that 🙂

    • Haha, I knew you’d like the last two! I almost picked a photo from Rostov-Veliky for water, too. Obviously have Russia on the brain…

Leave a Reply

